The Peter Holt Award for a clinical research abstract


The Peter Holt award was set up in recognition of the illustrious career of Professor Peter Holt following his recent retirement.  


The winner of the award will be the author who has submitted the best written abstract to a meeting of the AVSTS, BSAVA or ECVS during the previous 12 months.


The winner of the award is decided by the committee of the AVSTS and s/he will be invited to the spring meeting to present the abstract and to accept the award.


The first recipient of the award in 2011 was Graham Hayes, then of the University of Cambridge, for his abstract entitled 'Relationship between pharyngeal conformation and otitis media with effusion in Cavalier King Charles Spaniels'.


Mickey Tivers won the award this year for his abstract on vascular endothelial growth factor in congenital portosystemic shunt cases.